Pectin vs Gelatin Gummy Edibles

by Douglas Suraci

Gummies are a popular way to consume THC and CBD and come in a wide variety of flavors, shapes, and textures to suit a range of customer needs. The two most common types of gummies are pectin-based and gelatin-based gummies. While they may look similar, there are significant differences between the two.

Pectin-based gummies use pectin, a naturally occurring substance found in fruits like apples, grapes, and citruses. Pectin is a complex carbohydrate that is used as a thickening agent in many foods and frequently as a natural vegan alternative to gelatin. Pectin is also a more stable ingredient making it less likely to break down over time or melt at warmer temperatures which provides pectin-based gummies with a longer shelf life.

Gelatin-based gummies are made with gelatin, a protein derived from animal collagen. Gelatin is a common ingredient in many foods, including gummy candies, marshmallows, and other desserts. While it is an effective gelling agent, being an animal-based means products made with gelatin are not vegan-friendly and limit your consumer base. Additionally, gelatin is very heat and humidity sensitive making distribution more challenging and reducing shelf-stability and shelf life.

At Nowave, we use pectin in all of our THC and CBD gummy product lines making our entire range of products vegan friendly. This, in addition to our other all-natural ingredients, helps us develop longer lasting products with a smaller environmental impact that fit into many different customer lifestyles.